World Series of Poker

The World Series of Poker or WSOP is the most anticipated group of Las Vegas poker tournaments on any poker players’ calendar, featuring famous poker pros such as Phil Helmuth, Chris Ferguson, Doyle Brunson and Phil Ivey. The 2009 poker World Series Main Event promises to be grander and exciting than ever.

As the largest group of poker tournaments in the world, the Poker World Series has an unsurprisingly wide media coverage and an even larger audience base than some sporting events.

2008 World Series of Poker Main Event

The last hand on the 2008 WSOP schedule has been dealt. Denmark’s Peter Eastgate crushed his ‘November Nine’ opponents in the Texas Hold em poker world series Main Event and walked away with a coveted WSOP gold bracelet and a delicious $9,152,416 in cold hard cash.

After playing online poker games for only 18 months, The 22 year-old internet poker pro is the youngest person to become a WSOP Main Event winner. Eastgate beat the WSOP record set by poker pro Phil Helmuth in 1989, when the ‘Poker Brat’ claimed a WSOP bracelet at the age of 24. For other 2008 poker world series results, visit our 2008 World Series Poker page.

WSOP Schedule

The World Series of Poker is comprised of 55 poker tournament events which encompass all of the major types of poker games. The winner of each WSOP event is awarded a gold bracelet – one of the most prestigious prizes for a poker pro. However, all eyes are usually turned towards the exhilarating WSOP $10 000 No-Limit Hold’em Main Event, which boasts multi-million dollar prize money and attracts thousands of eager poker players each year to play Texas Hold em.

World Series of Poker History

Well-known casino owner and poker player Benny Binion started the World Series of Poker in 1970, luring various quality poker players from around the US to exercise their poker poker strategy in the world’s greatest poker tournament.

The original World Series of Poker tournament was a $10 000 buy-in No Limit Texas Hold’em poker tournament held at Binion’s Horseshoe casino.

The champion of the inaugural WSOP was decided by votes from the poker players taking part. Poker player Johnny Moss was voted the first ever Poker World Champion.

In 1971, the poker tournament format was changed to a freezeout structure, and Moss defended his title when all other poker players were eliminated.

In 2004, Binion’s Horseshoe was bought by Harrah’s Entertainment, and the event was moved to Harrah’s Rio All Suite Hotel and Casino on the Las Vegas Strip.

World Series of Poker Tournament Explosion

The phenomenal growth of the poker World Series is continuing at an incredible rate. Even the WSOP prize money has exponentially increased:

  • In 2000, Chris Ferguson claimed a $1.5 million prize, beating 518 poker tournament participants.
  • By 2005, the pot claimed by champion Joseph Hachem was worth $7.5 million and he had to beat 5 618 other players to claim it!

WSOP Online Poker Influence

A major factor in this growth was Chris Moneymaker’s victory at the 2003 WSOP. He qualified via online tournaments, for which he paid a total of $39. His victory at the WSOP main event earned him a cool $2.5 million, creating a hope of reaching the World Series of Poker for online poker players across the globe.