2004 World Series of Poker

The 2004 World Series of Poker (WSOP) saw a number of younger players claim tournament victories, not to mention an influx of amateur players and online qualifiers following Chris Moneymaker’s sensational victory at the 2003 WSOP Main Event.

The 2004 World Series of Poker was notable for three ladies winning open events at a single WSOP for the first time: following Cyndy Violette’s victory in the $2 000 Seven Card Stud Hi-Lo Split event, Kathy Liebert won the $1 500 Limit Hold’em Shootout event and Annie Duke won the $2 000 Omaha Hi-Lo Split event.

2004 WSOP Player of the Year

The 2004 World Series of Poker saw the WSOP Player of the Year award introduced for the first time.

Well-respected poker professional Daniel Negreanu won the inaugural award, after winning the $2 000 No-Limit Hold’em bracelet and claiming a number of other high finishes in the 2004 World Series.

Negreanu was not far ahead of Ted Forrest, who picked up 2 bracelets at the 2004 World Series, in $1 500 Buy-in Seven Card Stud and No-Limit Hold’em events.

2004 WSOP Main Event

Amateur poker player Greg Raymer won the 2004 World Series of Poker $10 000 No-Limit Texas Hold’em Main Event.

Patent attorney Raymer, known as Fossilman on the circuit, beat out nearly 2 600 players – almost triple the number of entrants to the 2003 Main Event – to claim a first prize of $5 million, while runner-up David Williams earned $3.5 million.

Famous high-placed finishers at the 2004 WSOP Main Event included Marcel Lüske, who earned $373 000 and just missed out on a final table appearance in 10th place, and Chris Ferguson, who won $120 000 for 26th place.