2006 World Series of Poker

The 2006 World Series of Poker (WSOP) was made up of over 40 events, all held at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The 2006 WSOP saw the introduction of a $50 000 H.O.R.S.E. tournament, the highest ever buy-in for a single World Series of Poker event. This event has been a huge success ever since and still boasts the highest single buy-in at the WSOP.

Humberto Brenes and Phil Hellmuth both cashed 8 times to set a new record for the most money finishes in a single WSOP.

2006 Poker Player of the Year

Jeff Madsen won the 2006 WSOP Player of the Year Award after collecting two bracelets and finishing 3rd on two other final tables.

He won the $2 000 No-Limit Hold’em event, claiming a pot of $660 948. Just six days later he won the second of his WSOP bracelets at the $5 000 No-Limit Hold’em Short Handed 6/Table event, pocketing $643 381.

At the time of Madsen’s first victory, he was the youngest person ever to win a WSOP bracelet.

His four top-3 finishes in his first year at the World Series of Poker – in four different poker variants – earned him a place as a sponsored pro with Full Tilt Poker.

As of 2007, Madsen’s tournament winnings exceed $1,600,000.

2006 WSOP Main Event

The $10 000 No-Limit Texas Hold’em Main Event saw a field of 8 773 players battle it out over two weeks for one of nine places at the final table.

Jamie Gold was the eventual winner of the $12 million pot – the richest prize for the winner of any sports or television event in history.

The top 12 players at the 2006 World Series of Poker Main Event all became millionaires, with runner-up Paul Wasicka collecting $6.1 million and third-placed Michael Binger winning $4.1 million.