2007 World Series of Poker

The 2007 World Series of Poker (WSOP) was the 38th annual installment of Benny Binion’s brainchild.

In 2004, Harrah’s Entertainment bought the WSOP from the Binion family and has run the series ever since. All 55 events were held at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

The 2007 WSOP Player of the Year Award went to Tom Schneider, who won 2 events and made another final table during the series.

WSOP Main Event

The 2007 WSOP Main Event was, at the time, the second largest live poker tournament ever played, with 6 358 entrants taking part in the $10 000 No-Limit Hold’em tournament.

Jerry Yang, who qualified for the 2007 WSOP via a satellite tournament at his local card room, beat the likes of Tuan Lam, Raymond Rahm and Alexander Kravchenko to collect the $8.25 million winner’s pot.

A flatter payout structure was used in 2007, which saw lower-placed money finishers receiving a larger share of the overall pot. Combined with a drop in entries for the main event, this was the reason for the reduced size of final table pots at the 2007 WSOP.

2007 WSOP Europe

The inaugural World Series of Poker Europe (WSOPE) was held in September 2007 and was the first time that WSOP bracelets were awarded outside of Las Vegas.

Three events were held, with the $10 000 No-Limit Hold’em Main Event being won by Norwegian online player Annette Obrestad on the day before her 19th birthday.

Obrestad became the youngest person to win a World Series of Poker bracelet at 18 years 364 days, a record that cannot be broken in the Las Vegas series due to Nevada’s legal gambling age of 21.

2007 World Series of Poker Records

  • Phil Hellmuth became the first player to win 11 career bracelets and set a record of 63 WSOP money finishes
  • Annie Duke set the women’s record for money finishes when she cashed at the WSOP for the 33rd time
  • Michael Binger and Chad Brown’s 8 cashes apiece at the 2007 WSOP equalled the record held by Phil Hellmuth and Humberto Brenes for most money finishes at a single WSOP
  • At 21 years and 11 days old, Steve Billirakis became the youngest ever WSOP bracelet winner when he won the opening $5 000 World Championship Mixed Hold’em event. This record was broken 3 months later by Obrestad in the WSOPE.