2008 World Series of Poker World Championship Limit Hold’em Event 30

The 2008 World Series of Poker $10 000 World Championship Limit Hold’em Event 30 was played at the Rio All-Suite Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, running from Sunday, 15 June to Tuesday, 17 June 2008.

A field of 218 players took part in Event 30, the Limit Hold’em World Championship, which offered a prize pool of over $2 million.

The top 27 finishers cashed in this event, including the likes of Michael “The Grinder” Mizrachi – winner of the 2006 CardPlayer Magazine Player of the Year Award – in 15th place; another bracelet holder, Hoyt Corkins, in 21st; three-time bracelet winner Dewey Tomko in 23rd; and Alexander Kravchenko – who finished 4th in last year’s Main Event and has one World Series of Poker (WSOP) winner’s bracelet – in 27th.

The final table of the World Championship Limit Hold’em Event 30 at the 2008 World Series of Poker also featured some well-known names, such as J.C. Tran and Andy Bloch, as well as lesser know names like Cy Jassinowsky, who became the first South African to finish in the money at the 2008 World Series.

During the event, seventh place finisher Andy Bloch became the first player in 2008 to make it to two World Championship event final tables. But it was Dutchman Rob Hollink who held out against the field to be crowned Limit Hold’em World Champion – his first WSOP winner’s bracelet and 20th WSOP money finish – and claim a first prize of $496 931.

The Bracelet Winner

Rob Hollink became the first Dutch World Series of Poker bracelet winner with his victory in the Limit Hold’em World Championship event, having previously won 15 tournaments on the European circuit – predominantly in Omaha events.

Hollink has won almost $3 million in live tournament play so far in his career.

The Final Table at the World Championship Limit Hold’em Event 30

  1. Rob Hollink – $496 931
  2. Jerrod Ankenman – $307 380
  3. Tam (Tommy) Hang – $194 674
  4. Aaron Katz – $158 813
  5. J.C. Tran – $128 075
  6. Brock Parker – $102 460
  7. Andy Bloch – $81 968
  8. Cy Jassinowsky – $66 599
  9. Christopher Vitch – $51 230