World Series of Poker Player of the Year Award

Ever since the 2004 World Series of Poker (WSOP), the player who manages to gain the most points throughout the series receives the WSOP Player of the Year award for that year.

As of the 2006 World Series of Poker, the Main Event and the $50 000 H.O.R.S.E. tournament no longer counted as part of the Player of the Year Award points structure; only bracelet events open to all players are included.

Poker Player of the Year Winners

The four players to win the award since its inception in 2004:

Jeffrey Pollack, WSOP Commissioner, cites the significance of the award in ensuring that every bracelet event is important, regardless of field size, buy-in or variety of game, adding, “We now have a triple crown at the World Series of Poker – the Main Event and H.O.R.S.E. titles and the Payer of the Year designation.”

As well as an official trophy, the winner of the Player of the Year Award gains entry to a number of World Series events for the following year. This includes $5 000 for travel and accommodation, plus buy-ins for the Main Events at the WSOP Europe, a WSOP Circuit event of their choice and the following year’s World Series of Poker.

Points are awarded to the top 10% of a tournament’s field in this fashion:

  • 1st – 100 points
  • 2nd – 75 pts
  • 3rd – 60 pts
  • 4th – 55 pts
  • 5th – 50 pts
  • 6th – 45 pts
  • 7th – 40 pts
  • 8th – 35 pts
  • 9th – 30 pts
  • 10th – 18th – 20 pts
  • 19th – 27th – 10 pts
  • In the money – 5 pts